Cancer Stem Cell

Cancer Stem Cell

The Cancer Stem Cell Program is determining whether cancer stem cells are clinically relevant by expanding the knowledge of tumour-initiating cells in several types of cancer, characterizing cancer stem cells and translating their properties into improved tools for clinicians and therapeutics for patients. It has already established that cancer stem cells are clinically relavant across at least four different tumour types: head and neck, breast and musculoskeletal cancer, and leukemia.

Drug Discovery

Drug Discovery

The Drug Discovery Program will efficiently translate cancer-related academic discoveries into novel oncology therapies that will have a significant impact on cancer patients. Its three major functional areas are chemistry (medicial, analytical and computational), drug delicery and formulation (focused on nanotechnology), and cell biology and biochemistry. Group members bring a collective depth and breadth of academic, pharmaceutical and biotech experiences. They have expertise in key disciplines, as in typical in the pharmaceautifual setting, required to run a drug discovery operation cost-effectively. Program members have a track record of delivering high-quality leads and clinical candidates while applying the quality standards and rigour of industry.

Genome Technologies

Genome Technologies

The Genome Technologies Program uses cancer genome sequencing and other high-throughput techniques to identify genes critical to the development of cancer and anomalies in the genomic profile of tumours. Genetic mutations involved in pancreatic and prostate cancer are being mapped as part of the Program's role in the International Cancer Genome Consortium.

Health Services Research

Health Services Research

The Health Services Research Program is a joint effort by OICR and Cancer Care Ontario. It addresses issues such as comparing risks, benefits and costs of novel interventions, barriers to dissemination of new information and technologies, and evaliation of the quality of cancer services provided to the population across the entire continuum of care. The Program's objective is to enhance Ontario's capacity to do research that informs health policy, optimizes the delivery of cancer care, and maximizes the benefits of the province's cancer discovery program. It achieves this by addressing human resources needs, research data infrastructure, and coordination of efforts applied to answering the important health services questions facing cancer control today.

Immuno- and Bio-therapies (ORBiT)

ORBiT

OICR's Immuno- and Bio-therapies Program is called the Ontario Regional BioTherapeutics (ORBiT) Program. Its mandate is to coordinate and drive the clinical testing and translation of promising anti-cancer biotherapies being developed in three Ontario research clusters. Working closely together, the members of ORBiT are designing and executing hypothesis testing clinical studies. The team's continuing objective is to develop therapeutic cell and/or viral based strategies for the treatment of cancer.

Imaging Translation

Imaging

The Imaging Translation Program is accelerating the development of imaging tools and techniques for earlier detection, diagnosis and treatment of cancer. Targeted imaging probes are one type of the specialized tools being developed. The Program aims to streamline advances into the clinic and marketplace to improve screening and treatment options for cancer patients.

The Imaging Translation Program was established to address the fact that no imaging group in Ontario has all the necessary components to translate innovation through the complex pipeline from discovery to clinical translation and commercialization. This has presented a practical impediment to further progress or at least has markedly slowed progress. The Imaging Translation Program’s goal is to increase Ontario's capability to accelerate the translation of research into the development of new imaging probes for early cancer detection into clinical practice.

Informatics and Bio-computing

Informatics and Bio-Computing

The Informatics and Bio-computing Program is integral to the coordination and integration of OICR's basic and translational research activities. Program investigators develop databases and analytic pipelines to manage genomic, genetic and phenotypic data, create visualization tools to enable the mining of this data for new knowledge about the causes and progression of cnacer, facilitate the validation of potential cancer targets and assist in the translation of this knowledge into new therapies and diagnostic techniques. The Program develops and maintinas essential infrastructure for the OICR community, including shared computing facilities, network infrastructure, websites and collaborative software systems. It is also responsible for outreach to the lay and research communities. It holds bioinformatics workshops and activities to support cancer research at OICR and in the larger cancer research community.

Innovation in Target Validation

Innovation in Target Validation

The Innovation in Target Validation Program is developing and deploying innovative technologies in aid of cancer target discovery and validation. The objects of the Program are to:

  • Develop enabling technologies to accelerate cancer target discovery;
  • Extend protein engineering (phage display) technologies to develop enhanced inhibitors of Ubiquitin-pathway proteins;
  • Deploy innovative technologies to uncover the adaptive response of tumours (tumour reprogramming) to targeted anticancer agents as a mechanism of resistance;
  • To apply integrated methodologies to validate potential cancer targets in complex biologic systems.

Ontario Health Study

Ontario Health Study

The Ontario Health Study is an innovative population-based health study which serves as an integrated platform for investigating the complex interplay of environmental, lifestyle and genetic components which increase individual and community risk of developing cancer, heart disease, diabetes, asthma, Alzheimer's disease and other common adult diseases.

The Study is collecting data from consenting people 18 years of age and over living in Ontario through participation in an online questionnaire. The Study will be the largest volunteer cohort study ever conducted in Ontario. Special efforts will be made to capture the ethnic, geographic and cultural diversity of Ontario. The intent is to follow participants for their entire lifespan. More than 231,000 people have participated to date. The Study is part of the larger Canadian Partnership for Tomorrw Project, which has recruited more than 300,000 participants, making it Canada's largest population health research platform.

Smarter Imaging

Smarter Imaging

The Smarter Imaging Program has two objectives - to detect cancer and to characterize it at early stages of development so that the most appropriate treatment options can be selected.

The program develops and implements new imaging techniques and probes to detect, analyse and treat cancer earlier through:

  • Technological development or refinement of new and existing imaging modalities for improcement of functional and structural imaging;
  • Development of combination imaging techniques for extended applications including surgical and therapeutic guidance; and
  • Development of nocel molecular imaging agents with high specificity and sensitivity based on cancer biomarker research.
  • The Program has a disease-focused approach with concentrates on breast, prostate, pancreatic and liver cancer.

Transformative Pathology

Transformative Pathology

The goal of the Transformative Pathology Program is to make Ontario a worl leader in the molecular pathology of cancer. The program is developing novel molecular diagnostic approaches to cancer to equip the next generation of clinicians/scientists to implement and further develop molecular companion diagnostic approaches. It provides pathology expertise for OICR's translational research initiatives, especially the over-aggressive treatment of early breast cancer and the ove-diagnpsis of prostate cancer.

Translational Research Initiatives

PanCuRx

PanCuRx

The PanCuRx initiative integrates genomic, biology, imaging and pre-clinical efforts to develop new treatment approaches for pancreatic cancer. The goal is to improce the treatment and management of pancreatic cancer, which is currently the fourth most common cause of cancer death in Canada and for which therapeutic progress has been very limited, which a dismal survival rate of five per cent at five years after initial diagnosis.

Improved Management of Early Cancer

Improved Management of Early Cancer

The Improved Management of Early Cancer (IMEC) initiative is developing new approaches to distinguish aggressive versus non-invasive disease and will rely on the development of new biomarkers based on clinical samples and new imaging technologies. Participation of OICR's Health Services Research Program will ensure that strategies recommended by IMEC are implemented and are associated with health benefits. IMEC will focus on producing tangible benefits for breast and prostate cancer patients in the next five years.

Cellules souches cancéreuses

Cancer Stem Cell

Le programme sur les cellules souches cancéreuses vise à déterminer la pertinence clinique des cellules souches cancéreuses en élargissant les connaissances sur les cellules initiatrices de tumeur dans divers types de cancer, en caractérisant les cellules souches cancéreuses et en traduisant leurs propriétés en de meilleurs outils pour les cliniciens et en traitements pour les patients. Le programme a déjà permis d'établir que les cellules souches cancéreuses sont pertinentes sur le plan clinique dans le cas d'au moins quatre différents types de tumeur, soit les tumeurs de la tête et du cou, les cancers du sein et de l'appareil locomoteurs et la leucémie.

Découverte de médicaments

Drug Discovery

Le programme de découverte de médicaments permettra de traduire de façon efficace les découvertes universitaires liées au cancer en nouveaux traitements d'oncologie qui auront des répercussions importantes pour les patients atteints de cancer. Les trois principaux domaines fonctionnels du programme sont la chimie (thérapeutique, analytique et computationnelle), la libération des médicaments et la formulation (accent mis sur la nanotechnologie) ainsi que la biologie cellulaire et la biochimie. Les membres du groupe apportent une vaste expérience collective acquise dans le milieu universitaire, l'industrie pharmaceutique et le secteur des biotechnologies. Comme c'est habituellement le cas dans le secteur pharmaceutique, ils ont des compétences dans des disciplines clés qui leur permettent de mener de façon économique les activités de découverte de médicaments. Les membres du programme sont reconnus pour générer des têtes de série et des candidats cliniques de grande qualité tout en appliquant les normes de qualité et en faisant preuve de toute la rigueur de l'industrie.

Technologies génomiques

Genome Technologies

Le programme de technologies génomiques fait appel au séquençage du génome du cancer et à d'autres techniques à haut débit pour repérer les gènes essentiels au développement du cancer et les anomalies dans le profil génomique des tumeurs. Les mutations génétiques qui interviennent dans le cancer de la prostate et du pancréas sont cartographiées dans le cadre du rôle que joue le programme au sein du Consortium international de génomique du cancer.

Recherche en services de santé

Health Services Research

Le programme de recherche en services de santé est un partenariat réunissant l'IORC et Action Cancer Ontario. Il traite de questions comme la comparaison des risques, des bienfaits et des coûts des nouvelles interventions, les obstacles à la diffusion des informations et des technologies nouvelles et l'évaluation de la qualité des services en matière de cancer fournis à la population dans l'ensemble du continuum de soins. L'objectif du programme est d'améliorer la capacité de l'Ontario à mener des recherches qui éclairent les politiques en matière de santé, optimisent la prestation des soins aux personnes atteintes de cancer et maximisent les bienfaits du programme de découvertes sur le cancer. Les chercheurs du programme atteignent cet objectif en s'attaquant aux besoins en matière de ressources humaines, à l'infrastructure des données de recherche et à la coordination des efforts qui sont faits pour répondre aux questions importantes liées aux services de santé auxquelles il faut faire face aujourd'hui dans la lutte contre le cancer.

Immunothérapies et biothérapies (ORBiT)

ORBiT

Le programme d'immunothérapies et de biothérapies de l'IORC s'appelle ORBiT (Ontario Regional BioTherapeutics). Il a pour mandat de coordonner et d'encourager la conduite d'essais cliniques sur les biothérapies anticancéreuses prometteuses en cours de mise au point dans trois grappes de recherche en Ontario et la transposition de ces biothérapies dans la pratique. Travaillant en étroite collaboration, les membres du programme ORBiT conçoivent et mènent des études cliniques dans lesquelles ils testent une hypothèse. L'objectif continu de l'équipe est de mettre au point des stratégies thérapeutiques cellulaires ou virales pour le traitement du cancer.

Transposition des outils et techniques d’imagerie dans la pratique

Imaging

Le programme de transposition des outils et techniques d'imagerie dans la pratique accélère la mise au point d'outils et de techniques d'imagerie pour le dépistage, le diagnostic et le traitement plus rapides du cancer. Les traceurs d'imagerie ciblés sont l'un des types d'outils spécialisés en cours de mise au point. Le programme vise à simplifier l'intégration des progrès réalisés à la pratique et au marché afin d'améliorer les options de dépistage et de traitement pour les patients cancéreux.

Le programme de transposition des outils et techniques d'imagerie dans la pratique a été créé parce qu'aucun groupe ontarien spécialisé en imagerie ne possède tous les éléments nécessaires pour transposer les innovations en passant par la filière complexe de la découverte à la pratique clinique et à la commercialisation. Ce manque d'éléments s'est révélé un obstacle au progrès ou, du moins, a nettement ralenti le progrès. L'objectif du programme de transposition des outils et techniques d'imagerie dans la pratique est d'accroître la capacité de l'Ontario à accélérer la traduction de la recherche en nouveaux traceurs d'imagerie et l'intégration de ces outils à la pratique clinique pour le dépistage précoce du cancer.

Informatique et bio-informatique

Informatics and Bio-Computing

Le programme d'informatique et de bio-informatique fait partie intégrante de la coordination et de l'intégration des activités de recherche fondamentale et translationnelle de l'IORC. Les investigateurs du programme élaborent des bases de données et des filières analytiques pour gérer les données génomiques, génétiques et phénotypiques, créent des outils de visualisation permettant d'explorer ces données dans le but d'acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur les causes et la progression du cancer, facilitent la validation de cibles cancéreuses potentielles et aident à traduire ces connaissances en nouveaux traitements et techniques diagnostiques.

Les membres du programme élaborent et maintiennent en bon état l'infrastructure essentielle à la communauté de l'IORC, notamment les installations informatiques partagées, l'infrastructure réseau, les sites Web et les logiciels de productivité de groupe. Ils sont aussi responsables des relations avec le grand public et le milieu de la recherche. Ils organisent des ateliers et des activités de bio-informatique pour appuyer la recherche sur le cancer à l'IORC et dans le milieu de la recherche sur le cancer en général.

Innovation en validation des cibles

Innovation in Target Validation

Les membres du programme d'innovation en validation des cibles élaborent et déploient des technologies novatrices qui contribuent à la découverte et à la validation de cibles cancéreuses. Les objectifs du programme sont les suivants :

  • élaborer des technologies habilitantes pour accélérer la découverte de cibles cancéreuses;
  • perfectionner les technologies de génie protéique (exposition sur phage) pour mettre au point des inhibiteurs améliorés des protéines de la voie de l'ubiquitine;
  • déployer des technologies novatrices pour mettre au jour la réponse adaptative des tumeurs (reprogrammation tumorale) aux anticancéreux ciblés en tant que mécanisme de résistance;
  • appliquer des méthodologies intégrées pour valider des cibles cancéreuses potentielles dans des systèmes biologiques complexes.

Étude sur la santé Ontario

Ontario Health Study

L'Étude sur la santé Ontario est une étude novatrice sur la santé basée sur une population qui sert de plateforme intégrée pour examiner l'influence réciproque complexe des facteurs environnementaux, génétiques et des habitudes de vie qui augmentent le risque individuel et collectif de cancer, de maladie cardiaque, de diabète, d'asthme, de maladie d'Alzheimer et d'autres maladies fréquentes chez l'adulte.

Par l'entremise d'un questionnaire en ligne, l'étude permet de recueillir des données auprès de personnes consentantes âgées de 18 ans ou plus qui vivent en Ontario. Il s'agira de l'étude de cohorte la plus vaste jamais menée auprès de volontaires en Ontario. On s'efforcera tout particulièrement de capter la diversité ethnique, géographique et culturelle de l'Ontario. Le but de l'étude est de suivre les participants durant toute leur vie. Jusqu'à maintenant, plus de 231 000 personnes y ont participé. Cette étude fait partie du Projet de partenariat canadien Espoir pour demain (http://www.partnershipfortomorrow.ca/fr), une initiative plus vaste à laquelle participent plus de 300 000 personnes, ce qui en fait la plus grande plateforme de recherche sur la santé de la population au Canada.

Imagerie intelligente

Smarter Imaging

Le programme d'imagerie intelligente a deux objectifs : dépister le cancer et le caractériser aux premiers stades de son développement de manière à pouvoir choisir les options thérapeutiques les plus appropriées.

Les chercheurs du programme élaborent et mettent en œuvre de nouvelles techniques d'imagerie et de nouveaux traceurs pour dépister, analyser et traiter le cancer plus tôt :

  • en mettant au point ou en raffinant, sur le plan technologique, des techniques d'imagerie nouvelles ou existantes pour améliorer l'imagerie fonctionnelle et structurelle;
  • en mettant au point des combinaisons de techniques d'imagerie pour de plus vastes applications, notamment la chirurgie et le guidage thérapeutique; 
  • en mettant au point de nouveaux agents d'imagerie moléculaire ayant une spécificité et une sensibilité élevées, d'après les recherches effectuées sur les biomarqueurs du cancer.

La démarche du programme, axée sur la maladie, se concentre sur les cancers du sein, de la prostate, du pancréas et du foie.

Pathologie transformatrice

Transformative Pathology

L'objectif du programme de pathologie transformatrice est de faire de l'Ontario un chef de file mondial de la pathologie moléculaire du cancer. Les chercheurs du programme mettent au point de nouvelles méthodes de diagnostic moléculaire du cancer qui permettront à la prochaine génération de cliniciens et de scientifiques d'appliquer et de perfectionner des méthodes de diagnostic moléculaire complémentaires. Ils fournissent de l'expertise en pathologie dans le cadre des initiatives de recherche translationnelle de l'IORC, particulièrement pour le traitement trop intensif du cancer du sein au stade précoce et le surdiagnostic du cancer de la prostate.

Initiatives de recherche translationnelle

PanCuRx

PanCuRx

L'initiative PanCuRx intègre la génomique, la biologie, l'imagerie ainsi que des travaux précliniques pour la mise au point de nouveaux traitements contre le cancer du pancréas. L'objectif consiste à améliorer le traitement et la prise en charge du cancer du pancréas, qui est actuellement la quatrième cause la plus fréquente de mortalité au Canada et pour lequel les progrès thérapeutiques ont été très limités, avec un taux de survie lamentable de cinq pour cent, cinq ans après le diagnostic initial.

Amélioration de la prise en charge du cancer au stade précoce

Improved Management of Early Cancer

Les chercheurs du projet IMEC (Improved Management of Early Cancer ou amélioration de la prise en charge du cancer au stade précoce) mettent au point de nouvelles méthodes pour distinguer un cancer agressif d'un cancer non invasif et compteront sur le développement de nouveaux biomarqueurs fondé sur des échantillons cliniques et de nouvelles techniques d'imagerie. La participation du programme de recherche en services de santé de l'IORC garantira que les stratégies recommandées par l'IMEC sont mises en œuvre et qu'elles procurent des bienfaits pour la santé. Les efforts de l'IMEC seront axés sur l'obtention de bienfaits tangibles pour les patients atteints du cancer du sein ou de la prostate dans les cinq prochaines années.